A Lot of a Little | My Gaming Landscape [July 2023]

Last month was a weird one. I kept putting off doing a Gaming Landscape because I didn’t have a lot to say about the games I had played. Now we’re at the end of the month and, honestly, I still don’t. I have a lot of games that I played but very little to say about most of them. In fact, there’s only one game I’m going to focus on so this won’t be as long as you think it will be.

Games I Played

This past month, I played 13 games:

  • Dead Space (360)
  • Atomic Heart (PS5)
  • Street Fighter 6 (PS5)
  • Mortal Kombat 11 Ultimate (PS5)
  • Ninja Gaiden Sigma (XBO, PS5)
  • Like a Dragon: Ishin (PS5)
  • Wanted: Dead (PS5)
  • Tekken 2 (PS5)
  • Guilty Gear Strive (XBO)
  • Twisted Metal (PS5)
  • Twisted Metal 2: World Tour (PS5)
  • Twisted Metal: Head On – Extra Twisted Edition (PS2)
  • Mega Man X (SNES)

Ends of the Landscape

I’m going to do this part first rather than last because a bulk of the games are going to be here. I recorded an episode of Dead Space for the playthrough. Still scary. I streamed Atomic Heart once. Turns out the movement is janky on purpose. I played more Street Fighter 6 World Tour and started playing online a little bit. I wanted to play more but didn’t have the time. I brought back my Mortal Kombat 11 Ultimate Rain character towers playthrough and finished stage 3. Game is still great as well. I had a lot of recording issues with Ninja Gaiden Sigma resulting in me having to play Chapter 4 multiple times and switch to the PlayStation 4 version. I did some side quests in Like a Dragon: Ishin, and little else. I completed Tekken 2 and unlocked all the characters. I played a bit of Guilty Gear Strive just to get some Microsoft Rewards points. Twisted Metal 1 and 2 came out on PlayStation Plus Premium so I messed with those a bit and then also loaded up Head On on an emulator. All great. Wish a new game would be made. Finally, I started a Mega Man X playthrough because I wanted a feel good game to work on.

Wanted: Dead

Platform: PlayStation 5

Time Played: 10 Hours

This fucking game. I kind of wish I had streamed it but I’m also glad I didn’t. This is a game I rented back in March, I think, and I sent it back after I got stuck in the first level. However, I got curious after I saw a video about it and rented it again. I managed to finish the first level and I’m glad I did. This game is wild, man. This game WILL get a review because I have so much to say about it and how it factors in as well as doesn’t factor in at all into the game as a whole. This game has details and non sequiturs that makes you think why did they do this and spend resources in order to do it. It has pet project written all over it as well as some serious Deadly Premonition vibes. The game itself is a fairly basic action title with third person shooting and melee combat with a rather interesting counter pistol mechanic but it’s not that well executed. It’s not terrible but there are definitely better titles like this to play. It’s not unplayable and outside of difficulty spikes in literally every mission, the game is serviceable, but that’s not even scraping the top of the powder keg barrel with a two inch wick that is this game. I promise, that review will happen. I’m stuck on mission 4 of 5 so let me finish the game first but that review WILL HAPPEN.

Games I Acquired

During the Prime sale in July, I got Star Wars: Jedi Survivor and Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty on the PlayStation 5, and with some store credit I got from Microsoft Rewards, I got Lost Planet, Duke Nukem 3D: 20th Anniversary World Tour, and Super Puzzle Fighter II Turbo HD Remix. I haven’t had time to touch any of these. Again July was a weird month.


And that was my Gaming Landscape for July. This month, I would like to play some fucking games. Like actually play them. I’m going to focus on playing fewer titles so I have more to talk about for each title. Now it’s your turn! Let me know what you’ve been playing and any games you’ve acquired in the comment section. Peace and Love, Gamers and Players! Colorwind out.

You talking to me? Are you...talking to me?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.